Carson City
(formerly Ormsby County)

Nevada State Capital Completed 1871

Ormsby County was established in 1861 as one of the Nevada Territory's original nine counties. It was named after Major William M. Ormsby, who was an original settler in the Carson City area. Ormsby was killed during a vigilante attempt to suppress a perceived uprising of Paiute Indians at Pyramid Lake in 1860.

Ormsby County contained Carson City, which was established in 1858. Carson City was the county seat, and in 1864 when Nevada became a state, was chosen as the capital.

In 1969, Ormsby County was dissolved and the Consolidated Municipality of Carson City was formed. Smaller settlements in the county were absorbed by Carson City at that time, and Carson City's services were extended to cover the entire municipality.