Paradise Valley

Town Pump & Well House

This fertile valley was found by prospectors from Star City in 1863. After failing to discover any ore, one of the men, W.M. Gregg, turned his back on mining and returned with horses, wagons, and tools to begin a hay ranch. By the end of the following year, twenty ranchers had located here and Paradise Valley, also known then as Paradise City, was born.

In its infancy, Paradise Valley had trouble with Indians upset by the settling and development of their land. In 1866, Camp Winfield Scott was established nearby and for the next five years protected homesteaders. It was abandoned after attacks ceased in 1869.

Over the next century and a half, Paradise Valley has maintained its presence as a pleasant agricultural community. Mining in the surrounding mountains gave the town glory as a center for trading, though after the decline of mining many businesses moved to Winnemucca to be closer to the railroad. Many old buildings remain in the secluded community and the permanent population remains at around 100.

Return to Top