Gold Hitt

Gold Hitt, sometimes spelled Goldhitt or erroneously as Gold Hit, was a small townsite laid out late in 1905. Possibly briefly known as Tickerville, Gold Hitt was named for Bert Hitt, one of the locators of the Ticker mine a few months before. By early 1906, Gold Hitt grew to boast three saloons, a store, butcher shop, restaurant, lodging house, feed corrals, telephone line, assay office, Miners' Union Hall, and a daily stage to the railroad at Basalt. A small experimental mill was built, with plans made for a sixty-ton stamp mill. A post office, called Oneota after the mining district it would serve, opened in June with C.P. Johnson as postmaster. Unfortunately, the ore did not hold out and Gold Hitt was abandoned early the next year.

See Also
Buena Vista