As a result of rich discoveries in Pony Canyon in 1862, prospecting extended to canyons throughout the new Reese River District. In Spring 1863, silver ore was discovered and a rush to Amador Canyon began. The Amador townsite was laid out that summer, accompanied by another small camp called Coral City. By the end of the year, 200 lived in Amador and Coral City was absorbed by the larger town.

A number of mining companies were operating at Amador by 1864. By early 1866, however, much of the ore was depleted and Amador's boom came to an end. The camp was nearly abandoned by the end of the year, with the last resident holding out until 1869. Though Amador was short lived, a handful of fine stone buildings were constructed and picturesque ruins of those remain today.