Gold Point

Gold Dust Saloon

A camp known as Lime Point was first settled in 1868 after lime deposits were discovered in the area. In 1880, silver was discovered and shipments were made to Lida, but it proved too costly and development was halted after 1882. The The district was virtually empty until 1905, when the Great Western mine opened. In 1908, high-grade hornsilver was discovered and the camp of the same name was established. Hornsilver grew, and auto stages connected the town to railroad stations in Goldfield and Cuprite. Hornsilver's extensive ore bodies were developed until 1909, when litigation and inefficient milling closed many of the mines.

In 1915, mining began again and in 1922 the Great Western mine was purchased by Charles Stoneham of the New York Giants. At that time, the Great Western was the greatest producer in the district, with an estimated $500,000 in production. In 1927, gold was discovered inside the mine by J.W. Dunfee. The camp's interests changed from primarily silver to gold, and after 1930 the name was changed to Gold Point. Mining continued until October 1942, when workers were drawn elsewhere by war industries. Following the war, work continued on a smaller scale until the 1960's when a dynamite charge accidentally caved in a large portion of the mine. Gold Point was virtually a ghost.

In more recent years, Gold Point's remnants have been restored and preserved by newer residents to the small town. Walt Kremin operates the local saloon and a bed and breakfast, which utilizes a few of the restored cabins to create a unique Old West experience.

See Also
Gold Point Ghost Town*
*Outside Link