Following exploration after the 1866 discoveries at Pine Grove, gold ore was discovered at the Rockland mine in 1868. A 10-stamp mill was built in Bridgeport Canyon, and Rockland quickly grew to a population of roughly 150 by 1870; early the following year it had a post office, express office, stores, and saloons. That spring, however, a revolt by unpaid miners brought operations to a close, and one particularly disgruntled fellow torched the mill. Rockland would lost its post office the following year, and experience intermittent ups and downs through the remainder of the century.

In 1902, new life was brought to Rockland with the construction of a 5-stamp mill, with a 15-ton cyanide plant added shortly thereafter. The town again grew to host a post office and tri-weekly stage to Yerington. A 60-ton dry crushing and leaching plant was built in 1907. The venture proved unsuccessful, and in 1912 was taken over by the Pittsburg-Dolores Mining Company. The Company reconstructed the mill, which operated from 1915 until 1918. A final revival began in 1932 when the price of gold rose, but ultimately came to a close in 1934. About $1 million was produced during Rockland's 66-year life.

See Also
Pine Grove